Breastfeeding my second son in a restaurant.

Breastfeeding my first daughter at World Breastfeeding Week 2007, the Global Breastfeeding Wave.

I am a happy mother of two lovely children, Teoh Yin Yue (5 years old) and Teoh Zao Yang (15 months old). If you ever asked me what is the best gift I’ve given them, my breast milk  would be the answer.

I’ve never thought of breastfeeding my babies until I attended the ante-natal class provided by the hospital. One of the classes was about breastfeeding. My husband and I had an eye opening into the world of breastfeeding. After attending that class, I decided to find out more about breastfeeding.

I am not an internet savvy but I love to get online. I can be on the internet whole day =). And that’s my only source of information. Not many breastfeeding workshops or mother support groups at that time. And I was the first among my friends that wanted to breastfeed. So, internet was where I found the DOs and  DON’Ts of breastfeeding. I followed all of them.

I breastfed my babies (first and second) right after delivery, in the labor room. And I also invested in a single room for my two deliveries, so my babies can room in with me. This was one of the best investment I made because my babies and I were together ALL the time. This is extremely important for a successful breastfeeding. I could feed them on demand, my babies were very calm, didn’t cry a lot. Because they knew that mummy was always with them, right beside of them.

After my 3-day-2-night stay in the “resort”, we happily discharged. However, we needed to be admitted again due to babies’ jaundice (it happened on my first child once and second child needed to be admitted twice). I admitted with babies because I wanted to fully breastfeed them, no formula milk allowed. This was also one of the best decisions I made. By doing so, my babies can drink my breast milk anytime.

I didn’t buy any formula milk or bottles for back up or incase I didn’t have enough milk. Because I understand that, no formula milk no back up, die die also need to breastfeed. :p

Did I have any breastfeeding challenges? Oh yes, I had bad engorgement and nipple crack too. But so what? It didn’t stop me from breastfeeding (guess I am a stubborn mummy ya :p). For me, once I’ve decided I’ll go for it without doubts. It goes back to “When there is a will, there is a way”. When your will is BIG enough and you are strong enough, all the obstacles can be solved.

Now I always proud to tell people that I breastfed my first daughter for 26 months and am still breastfeeding my 13 months old baby boy. And I love to see people’s reaction, their widely opened eyes and mouth. This is satisfaction guaranteed! Not to mention I’ve given my children the BEST start in their health.

Here I would like to thank my husband Teoh Chin Hong, for fully supportive in my breastfeeding journey. He slept with me in my first “single-room resort”, brought the baby to me when she needed me, helped change diapers, helped buy my confinement stuff in the market (I did my own confinement by myself for my second baby) and most importantly be there for me ALL the time.

Now I got my Phd in breastfeeding (breastfed more than 2 years old), so call me Dr. Connie Mooi when you see me next time. LOL!!! =D

Happy Breastfeeding! A gift that lasts a life time!

From : Connie Mooi, Malaysia

© MMPS. All rights reserved. All images/text cannot be republished.

