My breast feeding journey began even before my child was born. I did a lot of research about the benefits of breast milk than and listened to many success stories. And I prayed a powerful prayer. I told God to provide me with ‘overflowing supply of breastmilk’ !  That was the theoretical part…easy.

 

I was emotionally and physically prepared for the breastfeeding journey for both my child. My first born, Sonia, I breastfed her for 6 months. My second child, Zach, was born in February 2009, and I am still breastfeeding him. He is turning 3 years in two months time. I consider this a success story.

 

Like many mothers, I endured through many sleepless nights, endless days of engorgement, interrupted sleep as I have to express my milk and to breastfeed – every 2 hourly just to keep the milk flowing (12 am, 2am,4 am,6 am etc – woken up by engorgement ) , sore nipples, stiff back due to bad positioning, not enough sleep during the day and last but not least, the ‘unappreciative’ comments that made by others. I was mobbed and being called a moo-moo cow, and laughed at for having Cup Size D but I reminded myself to be proud of that – and focused only on giving the best milk to my baby.

 

Fortunate for me, I stayed in Jiayi Confinement home after childbirth for both my child. The centre provided me the support, advise and even equipments (Spectra dual pump by Baby Paradise) that complemented my decision in breastfeeding. And at the same time, I learn and get support from other new mothers there.  That made the entire journey a smooth and exciting one – especially for a new mother; knowing that I was not alone.

 

During that one month stay, I was given the peace of mind to only breastfeed my child and expressing milk on time (every 2 hourly) I stored my breast milk in freezer; enough for the next 2 weeks supply. Another issue that came up was insufficient freezer ! So there I was, ‘loaned’ my friends and relatives’  freezers!  On my second child, my supply of breastmilk was so overwhelming that I was also feeding 6 other babies at the same time.

 

Knowing that I will be back to work in 2 weeks time after that, I begin a regime to feed and express milk in the morning , and express at lunch, and direct feeding in the evening.

 

The positioning that we choose is also important. With Sonia, I breastfeed her mainly by expressed milk – and this lasted only for 6 months. However, with Zach, I adopted the lie-down position, this made the entire breastfeeding no-sweat as I can still ‘sleep’ while breastfeeding. I have also invented my own clothes to wear for discreet and friendly breastfeed ( tube and spaghetti dresses) .

 

The amazing part is that, I lost 20kg within 1-2 months after childbirth. I saved on the milk powder consumption. My babies get a better immunization through my breast-milk and I feel so complete that I am able to give the best milk to my babies at their early stage.

 

From : Fiona Liew, Malaysia

© MMPS. All rights reserved. All images/text cannot be republished.

 

