My baby was born premature at week 35 and lucky his weight was at 2.8kg. He was keep under observation for irregular heartbeat. Dr do not allow breastfeed. After returning to the ward, I called and asked the nurse if I can breastfeed the baby.

 

The nurse told me “Sorry madam, under Pd’s advise you cannot breastfeed your baby till his heartbeat is stable.” He need to be tube-fed.

 

I panic … coz if there is no demand, there will be no supply.

It was off working hours and the nurse asked me to wait till tomorrow morning for the Dr advise.

I was not satisfied with the explanations but couldn’t do much …

 

I escalated my case to the lead nurse the very same evening and they send a lactation nurse to calm me down who also help me to massage..

Colostrums already arrived.. she assisted me to massage and we use a syringe to collect all the precious milk to be spoon fed to baby.

I continue using syringe to collect droplets of milk for the first 36 hours every 2 hourly before I can finally breastfeed him.

All the efforts are not wasted..  The first few droplets of 2ml has slowly increase and I successfully breastfeed him exclusively thru direct latch on.

 

Time flies and I am due to return to work. He refuses bottles and I was devastated.. wouldn’t it be nice if I can continue letting him latching on. Is a struggle to bottle feed him..

When the times come, things just pull together… probably without mummy’s smell, he knew he need to get it from bottles.

 

It was fortunate that we have mother’s room in the office and an understanding boss. The first few days back in office was hectic, I was expressing every 2-3 hours to ensure maintaining the volume.

 

I am persistence to keep the volume and slowly adjusted to expressing 3 times a day in the office. There are bound to be challenges everywhere especially when we have back to back meeting, it just feel like the boobs can explode any time. I try to stick to my 3x routine as much as possible.

 

Now he is almost 8 month and is fully complimented with BM. Definitely looking forward to BF him for as long as possible.

 

From : Mei Leng, Malaysia

© MMPS. All rights reserved. All images/text cannot be republished.

